Latics on top of the pile at FSF awards ceremony

Wigan Athletic Supporter Liaison Ofiicers lead the way as they wrap up the National FSF Award at a ceremony in London last week, Congratuations to Jason Taylor and Ian Wadsworth.

The SLO role has been a major feature within European Football Leagues and has been taken on board by the Premier League to conform with European Cup Competition rules.

But what are they and why are they necessary? More to the point how did our two entrpid pair at Wigan Athletic manage to win a prestigeous award when they are not an employee of teh Club?

Yes it is correct that Jason Taylor (more companly known as Jayt on Cockney Latic) and Ian Wadsworth are fans of Wigan Athletic and not in direct employment by the Club.

Back in 2011 Jason was asked to take on the role due to his track record of attending home and away games since the mid 70's, after following the club for so long he is lready known by a lot of fans and so took a lot of the 'getting to know him' away.

Ian was one of around 40 supporters that applied for the second post and has watched Wigan for a time too and is active on social media looking for ideas from fans and gauging opinion about how things are.

The pair have accomplished a lot in their short time as Wigan Athletic Supporter Liaison Officers and this awad has rewarded the committment they show for the club. On the award this is what they had to say (Courtesy of the Wigan Athletic Supporters Club)

Jason Taylor said “It is an amazing honour to be even nominated for the award, never mind win it. So when our names were announced as the winners we were in shock, considering the rest of the candidates were so strong.

“There were some really strong contenders in there and we are chuffed to bits to be the first non-employee of a Football Club to win. Our role does tend to be very much in the background, in a sense that fans only find out what we have done when it concerns them or their mates, communicating our endeavours is something we hope to change.

“We have made great strides in the role over the last 4 years, I remember being in Maribor just a few days into the role when I experienced my first task in the role.

“On seeing a woman crying because she had lost her and her daughter’s ticket I was able to get in touch with someone who could issue a duplicate. You can imagine her reaction, and from then on I knew that a lot of good could come from a fan being in this role.

” Since then we have been involved with holding Fans Meetings, where season ticket pricing, the style of kit and even the replacement of the concourse catering company have seen the fans input change Club Policy.

“Helping fans is what we are here for, wanting the Club and the Supporters to work hand in hand, Making the match day experience as good as it possibly can be by taking on board criticisms and putting forward ideas.

“I have to give a lot of thanks to the Club for their support and also to my colleagues at the Supporters Club whom give me the opportunity to be in front of the fans week in and week out.

“There are plenty of others at the Club from Jonathon Jackson to Steve Reeves, Shaun Currie, Jonty Castle, Antony Clark and more recently Dave Whittaker who enable us to fulfil our role in a professional manner. Sorry if have missed people by name.

” We don’t just want to sit back on this award though, as we know there is plenty more to do and we want to be the pioneers in the SLO project in the UK, so with the fans and Supporters Club help and suggestions we will be able to take it to the next level.

The winners of the 2017 FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media:

Men’s Player of the Year
Harry Kane (Spurs)

Women’s Player of the Year:
Jill Scott (Manchester City Ladies)

Away Day of the Year:
Swansea City

Blogger of the Year:
Kieron O’Connor (Swiss Ramble)

Club Podcast of the Year:
Amber Nectar

Commentator of the Year:
Martin Tyler

Fans for Diversity Award:
Blues 4 All

Fanzine of the Year:
The Gooner

Newspaper of the Year:
The Guardian

Lifetime Achievement:
John Motson

Online Media of the Year:

Podcast of the Year:
Football Weekly

Pundit of the Year:
Gary Neville

Radio Show of the Year:

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year:
Jason Taylor and Ian Wadsworth (Wigan Athletic)

Writer of the Year:
Jonathan Wilson

Click here to discuss this issue and many more on the Cockney Latic message board.

Cockney Latic is an independent Wigan Athletic fans site and as such, if you feel you have an article, story or feature you would like to see on the site, please let us know.

We are always looking for fans which wish to put new articles on the site, whether they are one offs, or if they become a regular feature. If you're interested, send your details or articles to us and we will publish them or get in touch. The email as usual is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The upkeep of the site is funded solely from the advertising on site, from our own pockets and donations from users, if you would like donate it would be greatly appreciated, click here for donation page.

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

The only place UK businesses need to come for their online marketing and advertising
Go to top