Wigan Athletic kicked off their pre-season campaign with an impressive draw against Dutch Premier League side RBC Roosendaal who had scored ten times in each of their previous two friendly outings over the last week.

PRE-SEASON FRIENDLY – HEERLE – Tuesday 16th July 2002



Wigan started the game with a familiar look to the side with the exception of their departed captain, Arjan De Zeeuw.

Young Ian Pendlebury began the game with recent signings Ian Breckin and Mike Flynn both sitting out the first half, keeping record signing Nathan Ellington company on the bench.

Jason De Vos, wearing the number 5 shirt, sported the captain’s armband which could be indicative of Paul Jewell’s plans for the Canadian with the new season only a matter of weeks away.

Wigan were again solid in defence and held their opponents at bay throughout a fairly even game but it was Paul Jewell’s men who could have snatched the game late in the game.

Jewell made four changes after the interval and a further four during the course of the second half and it was two of the replacements that went close to sealing a victory with Neil Roberts, desperate to prove he is capable of fitting into his manager’s plans for next season, first going close and then bargain summer signing Mike Flynn went agonisingly close to marking his step up to professional football with a debut goal when his effort came off the inside of the post before rolling across the line and cleared to safety.

A goalless draw it was but Paul Jewell was pleased with his side’s overall performance on the night which saw them create several decent chances.

On the downside Paul Mitchell picked up a thigh strain, Tony Dinning had a problem with his hamstring and Nathan Ellington took a knock late in the game but the Wigan manager is remaining confident that they will recover in time for a run out on Thursday night when they take on Dutch Second Division side Top OSS before returning home at the weekend.

  John Filan
  Paul Mitchell
  Matt Jackson
  Jason De Vos
  Steve McMillan
  Scott Green
  Tony Dinning
  Jason Jarrett
  Ian Pendlebury
  Lee McCulloch
  Andy Liddell
  Ged Brannan
  Neil Roberts
  Lee Ashcroft
  Mike Flynn
  Ian Breckin
  Nathan Ellington
  Leighton Baines
  Gary Teale