Wigan Athletic rue their missed chances and end up on the wrong end of a 2-0 scoreline which will see Notts County as the giant killers going into the 5th Round of the FA Cup against Fulham.

FA CUP 4th Round replay – DW STADIUM – Tuesday 2nd February 2010


Stephen Hunt (75)
Gary Caldwell o.g. (78)

Chance after chance went begging for Latics in the first hour, but by not scoring it kept the door open for Notts County who took the chance to score a quick brace to see themselves though to the 5th round.

Roberto Martinez’s men were again unable to defend from a set-piece when Ben Davies whipped in a corner from the left and found Stephen Hunt at the back-post to head home.

Then, moments later, things got worse as Davies again delivered a dangerous cross, this time from the right, that Gary Caldwell couldn’t get out the way of and turned into his own net. An unlucky moment for the centre-half who hasn’t put a foot wrong since joining the club.

County had the confidence and the ability to see the game out from there, keeping possession well and, as they did all night, defend strongly at the back.

Wigan struggled to move out of first-gear all night, enjoying good possession but unable to convert it into too many clear opportunities.

However after 11 minutes the home side’s best chance of the night came along when Jordi Gomez slipped Jason Scotland through on goal, one-on-one with Kasper Schmeichel. However the forward’s lack of confidence at the moment came back to haunt him as he could only fire against the ‘keeper.

The second-half introductions of Charles N’Zogbia and James McCarthy tried but couldn’t help claim dominance on the game, and by the time Hugo Rodallega was brought on five minutes from time it was too late.

A forgettable night at the DW Stadium, it all eyes on Sunderland this weekend now.

Cockney Latic Man of the Match: Charles N’Zogbia
Referee: A Friend
Attendance: 5,519
13 Vladimir Stojkovic 23 Kasper Schmeichel
5 Gary Caldwell 17 Jamie Clapham
17 Emmerson Boyce 4 Mike Edwards
19 Titus Bramble 18 Stephen Hunt
31 Maynor Figueroa 6 John Thompson
27 Mohamed Diame 10 Neal Bishop
10 Jason Koumas 8 Ricky Ravenhill
15 Jordi Gomez 11

Ben Davies

16 Scott Sinclair 21 Johnnie Jackson
7 Paul Scharner 9 Lee Hughes
9 Jason Scotland 20 Craig Westcarr
12 Mike Pollitt 1 Russell Hoult
4 Antonio Amaya 5 Graeme Lee
24 James McCarthy 30 Ade Akinbiyi
8 Ben Watson 16 Ben Fairclough
14 Charles N’Zogbia 15 Karl Hawley
6 Hendry Thomas 19 Luke Rodgers
20 Hugo Rodallega 7 Matthew Hamshaw
36′     Yellow Card Ricky Ravenhill
61′ Player Off Jason Koumas
Player On Charles N’Zogbia
61′ Player Off Mohamed Diame
Player On James McCarthy
73′     Player Off Craig Westcarr
Player On Karl Hawley
73′     Player Off Lee Hughes
Player On Luke Rodgers
75′     Goal Stephen Hunt
78′     Goal Gary Caldwell
86′ Player Off Emmerson Boyce
Player On Hugo Rodallega
91′     Player Off Ben Davies
Player On Matthew Hamshaw