Wigan’s only home game of the pre-season fixtures saw Roberto Martinez’ former side Real Zaragoza take on his current crop.

PRE-SEASON FRIENDLY – DW STADIUM – Wednesday 4th August 2010

N’Zogbia 45

Jorge López (pen) 35
Braulio 75
Gabi 84

With new inclusions such as Mauro Boseli and Antolin Alcaraz included there was a new buzz and belief around the DW. A healthy crowd for a pre-season game was on hand to show the new players their support and that Wigan as a footballing town was definitely growing.

The opening half saw a very fluid Wigan Athletic take the game to Real Zaragoza. Nice interlinked play between the midfield allowed the Latics to pose a threat on the Zaragoza goal. Only some smart defending was preventing Boseli from making an impact on his home debut.

Wigan’s style was very pleasing on the eye and had a Spanish feel to it and this was mirrored by their Spanish counter parts.

In a half of few clear chances on goal it was Zaragoza who took the lead. Jorge Lopez converted from the spot after Kirkland had brought down the Spaniard.

Wigan looked strong after this set back and Charles N’Zogbia went on a mazing run into the Zaragoza area to take on the keeper and score to make the scores level going into the interval. This was the least that the Latics deserved.

Half time brought changes which included young Scot James McArthur. The feisty Scot looked eager to impress after his transfer from Hamilton and looked comfortable playing along side James McCarthy.

However Wigan fired a blank in the second half. With plenty of chances on goal Wigan were unable to capitalize and this proved to be their downfall as a goal from Braulio Nobrega and a rocket from Gabriel Fernandez saw the Spaniards win at the DW.

Full time brought a well deserved round of applause and Wigan had really shown that they were capable of moving up the league this season.

Referee: Chris Foy (Merseyside)
Attendance: 3,500
  Chris Kirkland   Leo Neorén Franco
  Emmerson Boyce   Carlos Andrés Diogo Enseñat
  Steve Gohouri   Matteo Contini
  Antoline Alcaraz   Jiri Jarosik
  Maynor Figueroa   Ivan Obradovic
  James McCarthy   Gabriel Fernández Arenas Gabi
  Mohamed Diame   José Edmilson Gomes de Moraes
  Charles N’Zogbia   Jorge López Montaña
  Ben Watson   Kevin Lacruz Coscoun
  Hugo Rodallega   Jermaine Pennant
  Mauro Boselli   Marco Pérez Murjillo
  Ali Al-Habsi   José Miguel Ruiz Del Amo
  Ronnie Stam   Raúl Goni Bayo
  Sekou Baradji   Ander Herrera Agüera
  Roman Golbart   Braulio Nóbrega Rodríguez
  Jordi Gomez   Edu Garcia
  James McArthur   Leonardo Daniel Ponzio
35′     Goal Jorge López Montaña (pen)
45′ Goal Charles N’Zogbia    
46′ Player Off Ben Watson
Player On James McArthur
46′ Player Off Maynor Figueroa
Player On Sekou Baradji
46′ Player Off Charles N’Zogbia
Player On Jordi Gomez
46′     Player Off Carlos Andrés Diogo Enseñat
Player On José Miguel Ruiz Del Amo
55′ Player Off Emmerson Boyce
Player On Ronnie Stam
57′ Player Off Antoline Alcarez
Player On Roman Golobart
57′     Player Off José Edmilson Gomes de Moraes
Player On Ander Herrera Agüera
57′     Player Off Jorge López Montaña
Player On Braulio Nóbrega Rodríguez
57′     Player Off Marco Pérez Murjillo
Player On Leonardo Daniel Ponzio
66′     Player Off Matteo Contini
Player On Raúl Goni Bayo
66′     Player Off Jermaine Pennant
Player On Edu Garcia
75′     Goal Braulio Nóbrega Rodríguez
84′     Goal Gabriel Fernández Arenas Gabi