Wigan Athletic have now released the names of the players that have made it into the 25 man squad, well actually only 19 have been named, read on to find out why.

Roberto Martinez has put nineteen names forward for his squad to take on the Premier Legaue this season. As Franco Di Santo, Tom Cleverley, Victor Moses and James McCarthy are under 21 years of age they do not have to be named in the squad.

The rest of the squad basically picked itself as 8 ‘home grown’ players had to be put in the mix, so there were only nineteen names on the list but effectively we have 23 with the youngsters.

The squad consists of: Chris Kirland, Mike Pollitt, Charles N’Zogbia, Emmerson Boyce, Gary Caldwell, Ben Watson, Steven Caldwell, Hendry Thomas, Ronnie Stam, Jorid Gomez, Hugo Rodallega, Mohamed Diame, Maynor Figueroa, Steve Gohouri, Daniel De Ridder, Ali Al Habsi, Antolin Alcaraz, James McArthur, Mauro Boselli.

Click here to disucuss this issue and many more on the Cockney Latic message board.

Cockney Latic is an independent Wigan Athletic fans site and as such, if you feel you have an article, story or feature you would like to see on the site, please let us know.

We are always looking for fans whi wish to put new articles on the site, whether they are one offs, or if they become a regular feature. If you’re interested, send your details or articles to us and we will publish them or get in touch. The email as usual is editor@cockneylatic.co.uk.

The upkeep of the site is funded solely from the advertising on site, from our own pockets and donations from users, if you would like donate it would be greatly appreciated, click here for donation page.